30 June 2007

The 13 Bishops

[Taken from Rorate Caeli]
We thank reader Simon Peter for compiling the list of those who were present at the meeting last Wednesday for the presentation of the motu proprio on the liberalization of the Traditional Mass and its accompanying letter, and who were later joined by the Holy Father, to which we added a couple who were missing. The list reveals as much about those who were present, as about those who were not invited.

Roman Curia:
1. Cardinal Bertone, Secretary of State
2. Cardinal Castrillón Hoyos, President of the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei
3. Cardinal Arinze, Prefect of the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments


4. Cardinal Ruini, Cardinal Vicar of Rome.
5. Angelo Bagnasco, Archbishop of Genoa, President of the Italian Episcopal Conference

6. Cardinal Ricard, Archbishop of Bordeaux, President of the French Episcopal Conference.
7. Cardinal Barbarin, Archbishop of Lyon

8. Cardinal Lehmann, President of the German Episcopal Conference

England and Wales
9. Cardinal Cormac Murphy O'Connor, Archbishop of Westminster, President of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of England and Wales

10. Kurt Koch, Bishop of Basel, President of the Swiss Episcopal Conference


United States
11. Cardinal O'Malley, Archbishop of Boston
12. Raymond Burke, Archbishop of Saint Louis


13. Basile Mvé Engone, Archbishop of Libreville, President of the Episcopal Conference of Gabon


14. Cardinal Toppo, Archbishop of Ranchi, President of the Catholic Bishops' Conference of India

15. Cardinal Pell, Archbishop of Sydney

Different sources affirm that two Latin-American prelates (probably, considering the list, two presidents of episcopal conferences) were invited, but "justified" their absence. They probably had no idea that the Pope would personally greet them and discuss the matter with them for one hour. The pretentiousness and self-sufficiency of many Latin-American Bishops was not softened by the Papal visit to the region in May...

No comments: